Chrysler 300M Enthusiasts Club
  • I have never done this before

• Yes some people clean their engine, some don't. You know who you are. :)
Ocean City 2019 Banner

Membership Banner

Yes some people clean their engine, some don't. You know who you are. :)

Moderator: Moderators

#144754  by ezgoing2406

Ok I never cleaned any car engine I have ever owned. What is the best way to clean are engine without having any problems in the long run. I just want this to look like new again. And with this going to the body shop next month to be repainted why not get the engine clean first. All info would be great. thanks

#144767  by Bill Putney

I would leave it dirty and clean it afterwards. It's going to get dusty during the paint work, so you'll just have to clean it again. Also, any overspray will come right off if you leave the existing dirt on there and clean it afterwards - you clean it now, and any overspray will be harder to deal with. Wait 'til afterwards and clean it well one time and one time only.

#144768  by velobard

I agree with Bill. Aside from overspray, your engine is likely to gather dust, etc, while it's in the bodyshop. Wait until after.

#144771  by Bill Putney

Dave is the expert on this question. :)

#144801  by ezgoing2406

Dave ok I wait till after the paint job then whats the best way to do this cleaning. I am very nerves about cleaning this engine. (lol) Because I have never done tis before.

#144826  by velobard

What he's saying is I'm the expert on having my car in the body shop. 2006 was not kind to my LHS, several times over. Fortunately, the majority of it was minor, like dings from a tree branch coming down in a storm.